Just rambling through the forest of life.

Today

Today woken up my our son playing, watching TV, getting ready for school. Heard the washing machine going through its cycle in the kitchen and my other half getting ready for her busy day ahead.

After 1st cup off coffee to kick-start the day, I hung the washing up, tidied up and went for a walk. About 15 mins from where we live is a park, I used to play in when I was growing up. its got a slope, at the top of the slope, over the years there were many different forms of benches, or half benches or a place where a bench used to be. Through the years I visited this spot, either sat under my favorite tree, watching the world go by or reading.

Today I sat on the new bench. The climb up has got longer over the years as I have grown older. gone are the days as a lad I used to slide down in winter on a plastic bag to school, or run up in cross-country, thanks to a cruel school teacher.

But the view from the top is breath-taking. It brings home how much my life, my heart and soul belongs to Derby. Looking down I see the old schools I went to in my early teens, sort distance away I see the local church with the bells I hear most days. In the distance I see the Cathedral, which used to represent my faith and my convictions. Looking further back, you see hills green rolling hills and tall woods as you leave the city behind. One hill in particular ‘Drum Hill’ was also part of my growing up from a boy into a man. It is and I belive still is a camp site for cubs, scouts, venture scouts. A movement I was involved in and as I look across over towards the hill, still have fond memories of being involved in, especially having adventures on Drum Hill, camping out, cooking on open fires, tracking, games, seeing many a bonfire display up there.  It was a carefree and innocent world, where kids bonded and shared stories and games. it was fun.

Looking more to the left I see where I used to work, an old hospital in the process of being demolished after serving its purpose to the community for over 100 years. I can’t quiet see the my current work place.

At night its different. in the dark, you see street lights snaking off in to the distance. Red flashing lights on tall buildings, you see stars, the moon and planes overhead. Get there at the right time and you can see some wonderful sunsets.

In one scan of the horizon I see my past and my present, what about my future? that can only be seen when I sit on the bench or under the tree. There things like conversations, encounters and plans I may be having play through my mind. What job am I going to do, continue in this one or move on, change wards again, met friends at work, what about dinner tonight, what will our son do when he gets home, what kind of day has my other half had, wot about tomorrow, next week, next year,  during this I hear the birds around me, singing, feeding, I see people in the distance walking dogs or cutting through the park i see dark beautiful clouds floating over head, I hear traffic in the distance. This place, is more than just a bench, it’s a place where the past, the present and the future met. where solitude can be granted here from a busy world.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Cease, Cows

Just rambling through the forest of life.

Taking Words for a Stroll

Original poems for the young at heart

Dr. Jekyll & Ms. Hyde....

Evil Genius at work..

CoreyPonders

A Young Man From Wales That Writes Poetry......

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Inflicted Delusions

She loved the insanity of the mind....

junesjottings

I live, I laugh and I transcribe my craziness onto my blog

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Sectioned

A blog about mental health & mental healthcare

C.B. Wentworth

Just following my muse . . .

Bayard & Holmes

If you're in a fair fight, you're using poor tactics

Polilla Writes

reading, writing, celebrating the written word

Becky Levine

Moving Forward on the Writing Path

50 Shades of me

DARK BLUE

undeaddad

explorations of mindful fatherhood

She Kept A Parrot

A Journal For Charlie

R e d t e r r a i n

Farm Life in Western Australia: 🌿 Exploring the gentle calm of wild spaces.

